历史悠久的格拉斯哥

历史悠久的格拉斯哥

橡子酒店距离格拉斯哥的现代大都市中心仅有很短的步行路程。 然而,周边地区也拥有丰富的历史。

格拉斯哥一直以公园而闻名,橡树酒店距离凯尔温格罗夫公园仅一箭之遥。虽然于1852年开业,但最近才被评为格拉斯哥最佳公园。 维多利亚公园由当时领先的景观设计师约瑟夫·帕克斯顿爵士设计,他也设计了伦敦的水晶宫。

宏伟的凯尔温格罗夫美术馆和博物馆是公园的一个突出特点,是为1901年的展览而建的。在近120年的历史画廊是一样活着,并拥有一个惊人的集合,从绘画到自然历史展品的一切。它总共有22个主题画廊,里面装满了8000件物品。

仿佛在公园里漫步的美景是不够的,在公园的边缘,格拉斯哥大学的历史校园开始。猪怪建筑似乎与凯尔温格罗夫公园的美景完美契合。 然而,该大学年纪大了,始建于1451年,是英语世界第四古老的大学。

同样拥抱凯尔温格罗夫公园边缘的还有圣玛丽大教堂。这座哥特式的19世纪圣公会大教堂于1871年11月9日开放,1893年建成。大教堂也是苏格兰皇家国家乐团的会所。

最后,从橡子酒店步行 5 分钟即可到达欧洲最大的公共图书馆之一 - 米切尔图书馆。该建筑拥有独特的绿色圆顶,自 1911 年开业以来一直是该市的标志性建筑之一,也是米切尔剧院和展览馆的所在地。外立面的考古与丰富的历史和知识一样令人印象深刻。

凯尔特人连接

凯尔特人连接节将于2020年1月16日至2月2日举行。艺术节始于1994年,展示了传统的本土人才,但也吸引了来自世界各地的表演。

圣伊诺克广场的圣诞市场

格拉斯哥的大陆圣诞市场本月开业,带来了来自欧洲各地最好的商人和摊位。 圣埃诺克圣诞市场将于11月9日(星期六)至12月22日(星期日)上午9时至晚上10时开放。

亚历山大"希腊"汤姆森

橡子酒店由著名的格拉斯哥建筑师亚历山大"希腊"汤姆森在19世纪中叶设计。

Historic Glasgow

Historic Glasgow

The Acorn Hotel may only be a short walk from Glasgow’s modern metropolitan centre. However, the surrounding area also has plenty of rich history to offer.

Glasgow has always been famous for its parks and The Acorn Hotel is just a stones throw away from Kelvingrove Park. Although opened in 1852 it was still just recently voted the best park in Glasgow. The victorian park was designed by the leading landscape designer of the time, Sir Joseph Paxton, who also designed the Crystal Palace in London.

The magnificent Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum which is a prominent feature of the park was built for a 1901 Exhibition. At nearly 120 years old the gallery is as alive as ever and has an amazing collection of everything from paintings to natural history exhibits. In total it has 22 themed galleries filled with 8000 items.

As if the scenic stroll through the park wasn’t enough, at the edge of the park the Historic campus of The University of Glasgow begins. The hogwarts-esque buildings seems to fit perfectly beside the beauty of Kelvingrove Park. However, The University is much older and was founded in 1451, it is the fourth-oldest university in the English-speaking world.

Also hugging the edge of Kelvingrove Park is St Mary’s cathedral. This Gothic, 19th-century Episcopalian, cathedral was opened on 9 November 1871 and was completed in 1893 when the spire was completed. The cathedral is also a venue for The Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

Finally, just a 5 minute walk from The Acorn Hotel is one of Europe’s biggest public libraries – The Mitchell Library. With its distinctive green dome, the building has been one of the city’s iconic landmarks since it opened in 1911 and is also home to the Mitchell Theatre and an exhibition hall. The architechture on the outisde is equally impressive as the wealth of history and knowledge inside.

Celtic Connections

The Celtic Connections festival will be held 16th January until 2nd February 2020. The festival started in 1994 and showcases traditional home-grown talent but also attracts acts from all over the world.

Christmas Markets at St Enoch Square

Glasgow’s Continental Christmas Markets open this month, bringing with them the best of traders and stalls from all over Europe. The St Enoch Christmas market will open open between 9am and 10pm from Saturday, November 9 until Sunday, December 22.

Alexander “Greek” Thomson

The Acorn Hotel was designed by eminent Glaswegian architect Alexander “Greek” Thomson in the mid 1800s.