غلاسكو التاريخية

غلاسكو التاريخية

يقع فندق Acorn على بُعد مسافة قصيرة سيرًا على الأقدام من وسط مدينة غلاسكو الحضري العصري. ومع ذلك، فإن المنطقة المحيطة بها لديها أيضا الكثير من التاريخ الغني لتقدمه.

تشتهر غلاسكو دائمًا بمنتزهاتها، ويقع فندق Acorn على بعد مرمى حجر من منتزه Kelvingrove. على الرغم من افتتاحه في عام 1852 كان لا يزال فقط في الآونة الأخيرة صوت أفضل حديقة في غلاسكو. تم تصميم الحديقة الفيكتورية من قبل مصمم المناظر الطبيعية الرائدة في ذلك الوقت، السير جوزيف باكستون، الذي صمم أيضا كريستال بالاس في لندن.

تم بناء معرض ومتحف كيلفنغروف للفنون الرائع الذي يعد سمة بارزة من معالم الحديقة لمعرض عام 1901. في ما يقرب من 120 سنه من العمر معرض هو علي قيد الحياة من اي وقت مضي ، ولها مجموعه مذهله من كل شيء من اللوحات إلى المعروضات التاريخ الطبيعي. في المجموع لديها 22 صالات العرض تحت عنوان مليئة 8000 البنود.

كما لو أن نزهة ذات المناظر الخلابة من خلال الحديقة لم يكن كافيا، على حافة الحديقة الحرم الجامعي التاريخي لجامعة غلاسكو يبدأ. يبدو أن المباني hogwarts-esque تناسب تماما بجانب جمال حديقة Kelvingrove. ومع ذلك، فإن الجامعة أقدم بكثير وتأسست في عام 1451، وهي رابع أقدم جامعة في العالم الناطق باللغة الإنجليزية.

كما تعانق حافة منتزه Kelvingrove هي كاتدرائية سانت ماري. تم افتتاح هذه الكاتدرائية الأسقفية القوطية التي تعود للقرن التاسع عشر في 9 نوفمبر 1871 واكتملت في عام 1893 عندما تم الانتهاء من الأبراج. الكاتدرائية هي أيضا مكان للأوركسترا الوطنية الاسكتلندية الملكية.

وأخيراً، على بعد 5 دقائق فقط سيراً على الأقدام من فندق Acorn وهي واحدة من أكبر المكتبات العامة في أوروبا - مكتبة ميتشل. يتميز المبني بقبته الخضراء المميزة ، ويعد واحدا من المعالم الشهيرة في المدينة منذ افتتاحه في 1911 ، وهو أيضا موطن لمسرح ميتشل وقاعه المعارض. المعمارية علي outisde بنفس القدر من الإعجاب مثل ثروة التاريخ والمعرفة في الداخل.

اتصالات سلتيك

سيقام مهرجان الاتصالات سلتيك 16 يناير حتى 2 فبراير 2020. بدا المهرجان في 1994 ويعرض المواهب التقليدية المحلية ولكن أيضا يجذب الاعمال من جميع انحاء العالم.

أسواق عيد الميلاد في ساحة سانت اينوك

تفتح أسواق الكريسماس القارية في غلاسكو هذا الشهر ، وتجلب معها أفضل المتاجر والأكشاك من جميع انحاء أوروبا. يفتح سوق عيد الميلاد في سانت اينوك بين الساعة 9:00 صباحا و 10:00 مساء من يوم السبت 9 نوفمبر حتى الأحد 22 ديسمبر.

ألكسندر "اليونانية" طومسون

تم تصميم فندق Acorn من قبل المهندس المعماري الغلاسوي الشهير ألكسندر "اليونانية" طومسون في منتصف 1800s.

Historic Glasgow

Historic Glasgow

The Acorn Hotel may only be a short walk from Glasgow’s modern metropolitan centre. However, the surrounding area also has plenty of rich history to offer.

Glasgow has always been famous for its parks and The Acorn Hotel is just a stones throw away from Kelvingrove Park. Although opened in 1852 it was still just recently voted the best park in Glasgow. The victorian park was designed by the leading landscape designer of the time, Sir Joseph Paxton, who also designed the Crystal Palace in London.

The magnificent Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum which is a prominent feature of the park was built for a 1901 Exhibition. At nearly 120 years old the gallery is as alive as ever and has an amazing collection of everything from paintings to natural history exhibits. In total it has 22 themed galleries filled with 8000 items.

As if the scenic stroll through the park wasn’t enough, at the edge of the park the Historic campus of The University of Glasgow begins. The hogwarts-esque buildings seems to fit perfectly beside the beauty of Kelvingrove Park. However, The University is much older and was founded in 1451, it is the fourth-oldest university in the English-speaking world.

Also hugging the edge of Kelvingrove Park is St Mary’s cathedral. This Gothic, 19th-century Episcopalian, cathedral was opened on 9 November 1871 and was completed in 1893 when the spire was completed. The cathedral is also a venue for The Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

Finally, just a 5 minute walk from The Acorn Hotel is one of Europe’s biggest public libraries – The Mitchell Library. With its distinctive green dome, the building has been one of the city’s iconic landmarks since it opened in 1911 and is also home to the Mitchell Theatre and an exhibition hall. The architechture on the outisde is equally impressive as the wealth of history and knowledge inside.

Celtic Connections

The Celtic Connections festival will be held 16th January until 2nd February 2020. The festival started in 1994 and showcases traditional home-grown talent but also attracts acts from all over the world.

Christmas Markets at St Enoch Square

Glasgow’s Continental Christmas Markets open this month, bringing with them the best of traders and stalls from all over Europe. The St Enoch Christmas market will open open between 9am and 10pm from Saturday, November 9 until Sunday, December 22.

Alexander “Greek” Thomson

The Acorn Hotel was designed by eminent Glaswegian architect Alexander “Greek” Thomson in the mid 1800s.